You are here: Home / EAS Events Calendar 2017-18

EAS Events Calendar 2017-18

Fall 2017

  • October 19, Thursday, 4-6pm, Andrews Conference Room (SSH 2203), Fall Reception.
  • November 2, Thursday, 5pm, Roessler 55, Movie Nights, Shower.
  • November 9, Thursday, 5pm, Roessler 55, Movie Nights, Eat Drink Man Woman.
  • November 16, 2-3:30pm, Bin Xu, Emory University, "The Politics of Compassion: The Sichuan Earthquake and Civic Engagement in China." Cosponsored by the Institute for Social Sciences, the Humanities Institute, and Sociology Department.
  • November 16, Thursday, 5pm, Roessler 55, Movie Nights, A Touch of Sin.
  • ​November 30, Thursday, 5pm, Roessler 55, Movie Nights, Finding Mr. Right.

Winter 2018

  • January 11, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Fist of Fury.
  • January 16, Tuesday, 12-1pm, Andrews Conference Room (SSH 2203), Cuihua (Cindy) Shen, Communication, "Understanding Online Gamers in China and US."
  • January 18, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Rumble in the Bronx.
  • January 25, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, A Better Tomorrow.
  • January 31, Wednesday, 5-6:30pm, Blue Room (ECN 1113 SS&H), Patrick Seitz, Voice Actor, Director and Script Adaptor, "Speaking Anime: A Conversation with Patrick Seitz." Cosponsored by East Asian Languages and Cultures, and Cinema and Digital Media.
  • February 1, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Infernal Affairs.
  • February 8, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening,  Her Fatal Ways.
  • February 12,  Monday, 11am-12:30pm in SSH 273. Jaen Michaud (University Laval)and Dan Smyer Yü (Yunnan Minzu University), "Zomia, Frictions and Multistate Margins in Modern Trans-Himalayas." Cosponsored by Anthropology Department. 
  • February 15, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Comrades, Almost a Lover Story.
  • February 22, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Durian Durian.
  • February 23, Friday, 2018, 6-8:30pm, EAS and EALC Joint Lunar New Year Banquet. Cosponsored by Global Affairs.
  • March 1, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, Chungking Express.
  • March 5, Monday, 2018, Art 210, 4-6pm, Steph Rue, "Korean Book and Paper Presentation and Workshop."
  • March 8, Thursday, 2018, 12-1:00pm, SSH 273, Michiko Suzuki, EALC, "The Language of Kimono in the Makioka Sisters."
  • March 8, Thursday, 5pm, Olson 206, Winter Film Screening, The Mermaid.

Spring 2018

  • April 3, Tuesday, 2:10-3:30pm, Andrews Conference Room (SSH 2203), Tim Liao, UIUC, "Collective Memory, Multidisciplinarity, Public Sociology: China and Japan's Islands of Contention." Cosponsored by Institute for Social Sciences and Global Affairs.
  • April 10, Tuesday, 4:10-5:30pm, Andrews Conference Room (SSH 2203), Kwai Ng, UCSD, “How Chinese Judges Think.”
  • April 26, Thursday, 12-1pm, SSH 273. David McCourt, Sociology, "Watching the China Watchers: The Politics of Expertise in U.S. National Security."
  • May 10, Thursday, 12-1pm, SSH 273. Bo Feng, Communication. TBA.
  • May 29, Tuesday, 4-6pm, Andrews Conference Room (SSH 2203), EAS Research Showcase, Awards and Spring Reception..

There are currently no items in this folder.

This is Pacific Theme